Diversity At Its Finest

17 Apr

Ever since I was a little girl, I can remember watching, or at least seeing the news on. My mom and dad have always been very informed about current events via the newspaper, radio talk shows, and of course, news on television. As a child, when you see someone who you can relate to, usually by physical appearance, it’s easier for you to visualize yourself growing up to be like them. I think part of the reason I never thought I wanted to grow up to be a television broadcaster is because there was no one on the news that looked like me. However, as our society becomes more diverse, we’re seeing more and more people of multi-cultural ethnic backgrounds being represented in the media.
I recently read an article about an Asian-American woman named Shannon Hori from Miami, Florida who became the first, and only primary news anchor of her decent on that network. Due to her prominence on television, she has been dubbed with the title “unofficial Asian-American ambassador”. She has been given the opportunity to participate in events and speak out in many different forums because of her success.
When I see things like this, it gives me a sense of empowerment. I feel more able to accomplish my goal of becoming a television news anchor when I see people of my ethnic background succeeding in that field of work. Hopefully Hori can gain enough notoriety to become a household name like Christiane Amanpour, Diane Sawyer, Barbara Walters, and the like.
I know if Hori had been a prominent news anchor when I was a young girl, I would probably have realized much sooner that I wanted to be one as well!

Leave a Reply

